Fitzpatrick Scale

The Fitzpatrick scale is a system for classifying human skin tone and its response to exposure to UV light. On one end of the scale, Type I skin always burns when exposed to sun, and never tans. Meanwhile, Type IV never burns in the sun.

Here are the 6 types according to the Fitzpatrick scale: 

Type I: (Always burns, never tans) Very pale, and commonly has freckles.

Type II: (Usually burns, and only occasionally tans) 

Type III: (Mild burns, tans in a uniform manner) 

Type IV: (Occasionally burns, usually tans) Moderate dark/brown skin 

Type V: (Very rarely burns, and tans quite easily) Dark skin 

Type VI: Never burns, very dark skin